Z22S 2.2 Help....

Ok So i am new to Datsun/Nissan's I just traded my 83 s10 for a 82 datsun 720 has the Z22S also known as the 2.2. Well the truck struggles on idle a bit other than that runs pretty good. I have the Weber carburetor set up saved on my comp so I'm gonna re adjust the carb back to Webers factory Specs (Link below). I just have some questions about the engine its self?

http://www.carburetion.com/weber/adjust.htm

• Is the valvetrain normaly noisy on these engines?
  • What the the red wire go to in the picture below? This thing has a weber on it.
  • Are they junk engines?
  • Also in a pic below there is a random vaccum line plugged would like to know where that leads and hook it back up.
  • Is there anyone that has the vaccum routing diagrams on there computer?

59461_376777895739263_1943486749_n.jpg

557826_376777992405920_212256732_n.jpg

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

All you need is that blue wire for the Weber/choke....forget about the red

Set valve lash with engine warm

I believe that plugged hose went to the stock air cleaner....can confirm from the link below....

http://720world.ning...9:Comment:26064

Thank your sir!

Is the valvetrain normaly noisy on these engines?

The valve lash is adjustable on the Z22. Intake and exhaust are 0.012" clearance on a hot motor.

What the the red wire go to in the picture below? This thing has a weber on it.

That's the idle cut solenoid wire (not used on your weber)

Are they junk engines?

No but like all engines have characteristics unique to them. The Z22 is a strong motor. Similar to the L20B but larger displacement and a different head.

Also in a pic below there is a random vaccum line plugged would like to know where that leads and hook it back up.