720 suspension question

GrettaGreen

I'm posting this here and as well as in the suspension section of Ratsun.

I have a 2" body lift on my 85 720 and it drives rough. She's my DD so I'd like to tone it down a bit but I dig the ride so I don't want to lower it, and we have snow up here. Doesn't look like the PO ever replaced the front shocks as she's sittin' on her bump stops. The rear shocks look to be fully extended with coil overs that you can move up and down if there is no load in her.... A mechanic friend put her up on his lift and the tires didn't go down but more the 1mm... As I am new to Nissan's I'd like to see if there is at all a cost effective yet good replacement for my gal.

Thanks ya'll

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

When my truck was stock it rode pretty nice but the stock ride heigth wasn't gonna cut it out wheelin. So I cranked on the torsion bars and made some longer shackles for the rear. With some fender trimming I was clearing 33x14 boggers but it rode like a brick going down the road. Was even worse when I re-indexed the torsion bars and that's when my SAS came to be. Sounds like someone has done some serious cranking on your torsion bars... Probably the cheapest lift around but your spine does pay for it in no time. Of course, without seeing it with my own eyes I can't be certian that's your issue, but that was the cause with my truck. The coil overs in the rear probably are not helping with the ride as well. These trucks are so light in the rear that the coil overs will make for a pretty solid ride unless you have some weight in back ....

My suggestion would be to ditch the coil overs and back off the adjusters for the torsion bars. You'll loose some ride height but the ride quality should be much better....

• Like 1