I'm a newb! For BMX bikes that is!

So I've been thinking about getting a trials bike (after watching Danny Macaskill videos of course), but saw the price tag and said yuck. Figured a bmx bike would be good for the screwing around I want to do. I already have a kick-ass mountain bike, but it's a bit unwieldy for wheelies and jumps. Definitely can do it, but I need to work on balance and a smaller frame I can do tricks on would be ideal I think. Or I'll just suck forever! ;)

Anyway, the last bmx bike I had was when I was 10 or so. It was a Mongoose, which was awesome at the time, but I've heard they cheaped out in recent years. I'm looking for something to basically practice on, to get my balance better and jump stuff and hop curbs, etc. There's a particular dip I want to jump, but it's very sharp and the mountain bike is just too long for me to comfortably go down and then ride the lip up without me loosing my nerve. It's more of a bmx jump anyway. Want something I can maneuver better in the air. (And exit off of easier if I get out of shape)

Thinking about trying to keep it below $300. Just not sure on what type of crank, length, hubs, etc I should get. I'd like a freewheeling hub like the mountain bike. The old Mongoose had a crank brake which I don't really want. I've seen a bunch of bmx bikes on craigslist but it's really hard to tell models and components. I know what to look for in general, but there seems to be quite a few different options for how the bike is set up.

Anyone have any pointers? Any bmx bikes out there with a USA frame? I know most of the mountain bikes except high end have gone to China production or Taiwan. I'd like to find something good quality homegrown. Oh yeah, all the bmx bikes I've looked at so far weigh as much as my aluminum mountain bike, around 26-27 pounds. What gives? Is that the norm?

That's it, I'm a newb, trying to get back into bmx/trials/fucking around. What say you bike nerds on ratsun?

• Replies 30
  • Created