75 280z springs

hey guys, im new to all of this! so go easy on me please lol. i just recently got a 75 280z, and im picking up a set of konig rewinds in a few days. theyre only 14x7 so theyre pretty small. im in high school and on a budget so i dont have a lot of money for suspension. i really want to lower it though, i was thinking of cutting a little bit of the springs just to hold off until my birthday early july when i buy coilovers. im pretty into cars and know a lot but im just getting really into datsuns and older cars.. i know its not a smart thing to cut the springs. but i was hoping someone on here could tell me about how much i can get away with cutting off? and how much it will lower it. im trying to go low as possible with out having a horrible ride.

thanks in advance!

Brenden

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

if you want to be slammed dc2/type r - cost $500+

or

Sectioned struts on ground control coilovers ( coilovers for z's) and some other shit.

s13

miata

sectioned struts and cut springs

im doing ground control coilovers like my friends.

http://www.speedhunters.com/2012/05/the-peoples-choice-sunnys-240z/

cut 3 coils of. lower your car about 2 inches and the ride wont be to terrible. what coilovers are you thinking?

That's a lot. Probably lower your car a lot more than that won't it ? :unsure:

i honestly have no clue. do you have any suggestions? preferably not too pricey. i was thinking maybe even just lowering springs depending on costs.

If just a 1-1.5" lower ,,, Eibach springs and KYB struts.

But on high-school budget , cut a little at a time if that's what you really wish to do !

Old-timers also heat springs with a torch and block the car/watch how much it sags. I wouldn't recommend it , but hey ... I have never tried !