A14 valve springs for stock rebuild

femtnmax

Hey out there....I'm new to this forum... I worked as a Datsun factory trained mechanic back in the 70's. They are great cars/trucks.

Right now busy rebuilding the drivetrain on a 1979 210 2dr with a beautiful body:) I'm setting the engine up with MPG cylinder head, compression is 10.0 with pistons flush with block deck, thinking of doing some head milling and going for 10.3:1. (set up my 74 B210 with 10:1 and .045 quench & get 49 mpg tops with 4speed). For the 210 have finished a 5spd trany, took 2 years to find the parts w/o paying excessive. Cannot find the 3.54 rear axle ratio, so will live with the 3.7 ratio.

The problem: valve springs are tired with 150,000 miles on the speedo. The lifters have been chattering off the tops of the cam lobes which has damaged most of the lobes. Cam/lifters need reground/resurfaced.

Found a A14 cam in the local parts yard off a 78 F10 with only 106K miles, but the cam lobes are starting to show the same problem. Maybe its the EPA oil being sold these days which is not good for flat tappet cams.

Where can the cam be reground to stock specs, can anyone recommend a cam grinder? I want a good job done, not quick and sloppy. Cam is the 248/256 seat duration dual pattern.

Anyone found replacement valve springs? I've searching thru several sources... I'm finding some possibilities with Sealed Power but not all the specs are listed so not completely sure they will work correctly.

Thanks for your help.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic