Amp and subs...

DAT510

I hooked up my amp and subs, they're not working. as some have previously seen, I am by no means a electrical expert. Infact i'm more newb than a newbie.

I give great thanks to Josh who has helped me tremendously already, but i need moar halp.

let me start with the wiring in the box since that's less obvious, each woofer is wired to and individual terminal, so + and - to each + and - terminal

so from my understanding these are wired individually in series?

I know it's grounding because the two wires touched and made a huge spark! (like welding)

if you can't tell already, my work is very messy yes, but i'm just testing waters right now. but every connection is crimped and every connection is solid.

although im doubting that blue wire.. which is supposed to be my remote wire.

i should also mention that in my rear speakers weren't working until i did this: my stereo wiring harness the blue with white stripe wire is the remote, and there was 3 wires left over in the car harness one which was blue with white and for some reason were connected to the rear speakers. so i connected the two and rear speakers worked, so i have the remote and blue/white wire on that single blue/white wire coming from the stereo

021-2.jpg

019-1.jpg

017-1.jpg

024-3.jpg

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You have a few problems going on...

To find if you do have power at amp simply attach the blue line from the amp to the power in (its just looking for power to say ignition is on) Many people just install it to a switch so they can turn off the subs easily (switch goes somewhere like the center console).

Your sub wiring is a problem.

You have your subs on each channel (A&B) but you are only supplying audio to (A).

The other problem after reading the manual, you need to switch the Ach and Bch Operation switches to mono.

So flip those switches.