Paint gurus...

I had one thread asking why my clear coat bubbled after repaint. Got that all figured out and painted a fender. I need some advice on what to do from someone who does paint...

I used a grinder and a sanding disk to go down to bare metal. The sanding dish left small valleys in the metal that I couldnt see until I sanded my first coat of color. Whats the easiest way to fix this? They are everywhere on the fender, and look like little door dings. I tried taking a picture but couldnt get them to show up. I can take a picture of the fender sanded down tomorrow at some point. All I can think of is spray a bunch of coats, then sand it down to make it level, but im not a paint guy. Any ideas?

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Im no pro but I think it might depend on how shallow these valleys are. If fairly shallow sand the mountains down and see how far this gets you, obviously you dont want to see primer, but if you do it simply means another coat of paint or 2. If fairly deep, it might be better to just strip with aircraft paint remover (autoparts store). Use some body filler, then redo it all. Im sure 510keeper will be here soon enough though.

There are no mountains, just valleys. It seems like the grinder took out some metal once it got through the paint in some areas. I dont want to use body filler on the entire fender, that is over kill. If that is my only choice, I will just get a fender from a junk yard. Im thinking that spraying about 10 coats of paint will fill in the valleys so that I can sand down the fender and have it all smooth.