l20b ka24 engine

justin 620

Hello, I've been combing this forum for a while, and i haven't been able to find exactly what i'm looking for.

I have a running Dastun l20b engine, and i have a blown ka24 2400 12 valve engine out of a 92 hardbody, i've seen several topics about swapping heads and what-not, but i think the head in my ka24 has a whole in it somewhere so i'm not sure if it's usable, but i digress. what i really want to know is about a mod i saw on a different website about swapping out the crank shafts? it said that it would increase the size of the chamber to about a 22? if anybody could lend some advice i would appreciate it!

oh, and how do i get this to email me whenever somebody comments on this topic? i'm still new at this : P

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The crankshafts are not really swappable, your L20B crank mains will be too small for the KA block with no suitable bearings, and the KA crank wont fit in the L20 block unless you grind the mains $$ or you align bore the block $$$$.

Not much you can swap between L20B and KAEs. If you over bore the L20B block from 85mm to 89mm or cut 0.080" then the KAE pistons will fit. You can use the L20B rods but you will need a Z22 crank. This would give you a Frankenmotor of 2.3 liters. Boring the L20B that much is risky when you could simply use a Z22 block that only has to be bored 1/2 that and already has the correct crank in it.

Yes the KAE head will fit but needs an oil drain back hole welded shut and a custom timing chain. At least.