pressurized oil?

hey everyone ive got a question has anyone heard of this preoiling setup for rebuilt engine supposidly you fill this canister with oil then apply airpressure and then this helps prime the engine with oil if so could you please let me know a name and who sells it thanx. now before anybody says anything yes i am a mechanic and i know about using the drill to prime the oil pump and motor but ive heard of this and want more info

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Here's what I did:

I went out and bought one of those bug/pesticide sprayers from Home Depot(The kind that you pump up and have the spray nozzle at the end of a hose).

I took the spray wand off the end, and added a brass fitting that would go into my oil pressure sending unit hole in the block. I put 4 qts of oil into the bug sprayer, and pumped it until it was empty. Engine primed, baby!

Simple to make, costs maybe $15.

Here's what I did:

I went out and bought one of those bug/pesticide sprayers from Home Depot(The kind that you pump up and have the spray nozzle at the end of a hose).

I took the spray wand off the end, and added a brass fitting that would go into my oil pressure sending unit hole in the block. I put 4 qts of oil into the bug sprayer, and pumped it until it was empty. Engine primed, baby!

Simple to make, costs maybe $15.

That's Actually Really Smart MicroMachinery ! Maybe I will do the same for my rebuilt datto/ all engines ;-)

77 rustrat , there are a lot of options if you google the terms "preoiler" there will be many different options , and I woiuld go after the setup that charges the pressurizes the engine oil gallerys at "Key On" , and they are ran by a little electric motor ! ( be warned they are very spendy ) , so do what MicroMachinery did :-)