240Z Front Bumper Fiberglass Molds

I have been working on making 240Z front bumper fiberglass molds. I need to know a few things. I am a total newb at this so please bear with me. This may turn out to be a very good thing for those who want a fiberglass bumper.

:D

1. What foam should I use to fill the mold with that is not too difficult to work with?

2. What do I line the mold with to keep the foam from sticking and getting wrinkles while setting up?

3. Do I need to do anything to protect the foam from the fiberglass resin?

Here is that I have so far.....

This is my first attempt, but I only had twine to wrap the molding material with so I got bumps. :(

29fscox.jpg

hvtsgl.jpg

Here is my second attempt...much better. No bumpies on the bumper. :)

idzwqf.jpg

154x8g0.jpg

Here are the two molds and my template...

2ikpj4p.jpg

Please help me with what to do next, I want to do this right.

Thanks!! :)

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Progress......

I had some copper sheeting, so I lined the fiberglass mold I made with it so I can put carnuba wax and releasing agent inside of the mold. This will help keep the resin from sticking.

I plan on making one positive mold as well out of foam to see which way comes out better.

Here are the steps I took......

29610qr.jpg

3465284.jpg

af8wzo.jpg

This copper should make the fiberglass super smooth..

28hcv3s.jpg

Here is the fiberglass mold I made before I lined it with silicone sealant and copper. I coated the entire inner surface with silicone before placing the copper inside.

2efhw5c.jpg

117h06d.jpg

I used the fiberglass bumper Paul gave me as a template and pressed the mold with it.

2dgn5uo.jpg

16kclti.jpg

23m7dxl.jpg

2irayrr.jpg

205tk52.jpg