Carb problem? High RPMs?

Chiefbauske

I’m having major issues with my hitachi carb. At first my rpms were skyrocketing (wanna day 3-4K?).  It was backfiring alot and this was after a heavy rain fall. Once I took off the air filter I looked into the carb and saw The secondary valve seems to fluttering a million times a second and I can’t seem to figure out why. I want to say it’s a vacuum leak in the diaphragm but when I took the old carb off the diaphragm seemed okay. I never thought to check for a vacuum leak before hand. I’m not experienced with carb that much unfortunately and my brand new carb just came in but won’t be able to be installed until after the carb to manifold gaskets come in. If this doesn’t work I’m just going to upgrade to a Weber. I also noticed the bootle on the choke (I think it’s the choke) it’s small about an inch tall and quarter inch wide was torn. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening? 

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The sunny was made for 40 years. Do you really mean a B-210? Maybe a later 210? Year?

The rubber boot you refer to is likely the top of the accelerator pump. You sure it's the secondary? It's the hole farthest from the valve cover.

Hey mike you’re the exact person I was hoping to answer my question! And it’s actually a Nissan Datsun Sentra B11. But I was told to refer to it as a sunny when talking to Datsun fanatics. At first I thought it was a vacuum but like you said in earlier posts you’ve never seen a high idle caused by a vacuum leak. Therefore what could it be 

The Sentra is an 84 model sedan. It has 103k miles exactly on it and has been garage kept until I bought it about three months ago. I’m a lead mechanic at a ford dealership so I’m pretty knowledgeable when it comes to edlebrock carbs and the like. It’s just these Japanese made carb are killing me ??‍♂️