Intake and exhaust manis for 74 A87 head

antiextreme

Noob here slowly trying to figure my way around my Datsun.  '74 620 pickup with an L18, A87 head and currently smog intake and exhaust.  Want to clean things up so I just purchased this L16 intake on ebay with the hopes that it would fit my head, assuming I can find an L16 exhaust mani to match.  Am I on the right track? 

$_57.JPG

• Like 2
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

All four cylinder L series intakes will physically bolt to all L series heads... not that you would necessarily want to do this. Yes that intake will fit.

The L16 and your L18 exhaust manifolds are the same. Your L18 may have an ERG pipe on it but you can remove it an put a pipe plug in the threaded hole or just trim it and pinch the metal closed and weld it up. Not worth the time, money or bother to search out an earlier L16 exhaust manifold. Plus you already have thew L18 exhaust so why risk breaking a stud over this?

L18

enginepossibleL18620exhaust.jpg

L16

standardand4intotwoexhaust002.jpg

• Like 1

The exhaust manifold that I removed had bolts that shared surface space for mounting the original  intake as well.  That is, one bolt into the head held a portion of both manifolds in place.  Also, my original L18 exhaust manifold had a setup on top (I think others have called it a "stove pipe") that evidently opened to warm the bottom of the original intake.  Can this manifold still be used in conjuntion with my new L16 intake?  That would be great, but I can't figure how it's possible? 

Also, what gaskets will I need to hunt down now?

Thanks for the help!

All L series four cylinder bottom bolts or studs hold both the intake and the exhaust. A special 'cone' washer is used to bridge across both flanges.