Clutch Replacement

72O

So my clutch went out the other day, how I know because of constant

grinding and clashing in my transmission later leading to smoke coming out.

I just ordered a new clutch set (LuK 06-006) today, and will be at my doorstep sometime this week.

My question is: What is the best way to replace the clutch?

I've researched online for "4x4 720 clutch replacement" and the guide says that it is easiest to pull the whole engine out.

This can't possibly be the best way? I feel that I could just remove the tranny instead but I have no idea, this is my first time replacing a clutch.

Any advice/guide/help is appreciated, thanks!  :thumbup:

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The transmission is removable, but just barely. It does not 'drop out'.

Smoke from the transmission? Check th oil level right away.

Be sure the hydraulic clutch is working as this can simulate the clutch not disengaging.

http://www.amazon.com/Datsun-Nissan-Pick-Ups-1970-86-Canadian/dp/0801977495 - This Chilton manual is super-handy, if you don't have it. I like it a little better than the Haynes.

I have a 720 2WD KC that I did the clutch on. I bought the little transmission scissor jack @ Harbor Freight (I know, crappy tools... but...) I was able to sleeve the bell housing open and back enough to install the new clutch with the tranny resting on the jack - made it pretty simple. http://www.harborfreight.com/automotive-motorcycle/transmission-jacks/450-lb-capacity-transmission-jack-39178.html

Follow Mike's advice first though, check the hydraulic lines and cylinders before you mess with the transmission. 

It could be any number of things. Could be it ran out of oil, and gears are burned up inside the tranny.  Could be your clutch burned out and the clutch disc material is gone, and now its just the rivets on your flywheel. I would suggest you quit doing that unless you like putting more money into your rig.