A/F meter reading lean

fisch

I have never used an A/F mete before and am not sure if it is working. My dime came with a narrow band Halmeter AF10. It is a LZ22 with Z Therapy 46 SU's. Car has sat for 2 years, but the Halmeter was working before it sat and would read.

I did nothing to the car, adjusted nothing, but two years later the meter is pegging the lean side of the meter. It doesn't fluxuate at all no matter what I do, no matter how much gas I give it.

As a quick test it was suggested I warm up the car, then pull the choke while running and see if it goes 'rich'. Pulled it, the car sputtered and stalled out, but the meter did not move.

If it is really that lean, I don't want to blow anything up, but again I know little of these things.

What do y'all think? I will pull the spark plugs and see if they can tell me anything. I can find no info on how to test this Halmeter AF10. Thinking it was a clogged fuel filter, I replaced it. Same. The headers feel brand new and I see no exhaust leaks that are visible prior to the meter. I went through and cleaned all the fuses too.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks guys. I wondered that too MM. Trouble is, of course, this thing is installed where I can't even get a hand on it. So I have to figure out how to get to it and the wires. It is on a short piece of pipe just after the header ends, so worse case I can remove that piece of pipe to get to it.

OK so that is next, pull the 02 run it, Shut it off, put it back, start it up.

So am I right that pulling the choke enough to kill it should have made it read rich? It can't be choked enough to kill it and still be lean, right?