JEGS Adj Dual Fan Control Kit with Dry Temp Sensor

I bought a JEGS Adj Dual Fan Control Kit with a Dry Temp Sensor. 

It is basically a thermo-coupler inside a ring lug that you bolt to the block. 

I have researched and allot of people use this type of temp sensor with success. 

And The control module us actually pretty nice. It has 2 50amp Relays and 2 circuit 

breakers instead of fuses. 

My question here is the possibly of converting it to a "Wet" temp sender. 
Is it possible to somehow use a regular temp sensor rather than this probe type? 

If, where would be the best place to install this thermal-couple? 

Thanks

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey John, I'm no expert in thermocouples but we do use them at work. They are 2 dissimilar metals welded together at the tip. they put out a varying voltage as they change in temperature. They will read the temp of whatever is closest to their joint. I have seen them run in open air or tied off to surfaces. I think your best bet for what you want to do might be to find a brass bolt with the thread pitch of one of your fittings( I think you have a bleed plug on your outlet you could use). I would turn down the end of the bolt to resemble a coolant temp sensor probe and tack weld a nut on it so you can get proper depth and have an insertion and extraction method. place the eyelet of that thermocouple over the end of the bolt and you are 1 lock washer and nut away from done.

• Like 1

This is just an educated guess, and barely educated at that but I believe most temp sendind units have the thermocouple sheathed inside of the brass and end at the plug, then you use a standard wire (copper/nickel) to carry the voltage back to the controler or gauge. If you wanted to be real trick you could have another temp sender on your inlet pipe and have a gauge that measures the delta to tell you the cooling efficiency of your radiator and fans.