L20b Hitachi Carburetor stumbling/no power

Lowandslow

I have a 1980 720 with the stock Hitachi carb. I know a lot of people would tell me to get a Weber but I don't have that option at the moment. I have tuned the carburetor and I had it pretty good. I could rev the engine up to 4500 RPM's with no problem. The problem just came on today, I went to pass a truck and as soon as I stepped on the gas the truck lost power and started stumbling. I had to keep tapping on the gas to maintain the current speed I had. The question I have is what could be causing this? I have little experience with carburetors and don't have a clue on what to begin troubleshooting. This happens as so as I go over 3k RPM's. I have to pull over and sit there for a bit. It still idles fine but as soon as I try to accelerate or cruise it shakes and will not gain speed. Hopefully someone can give me some insight on where to begin with this, thanks!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

sounds similar to problem I had awhile back but it was the coil.  Around town I was okay, then got on the freeway or speed close to Freeway speed and my Datsun would stumble.  You can ohm out your coil, too. just to check. Find the resistance reading on it first then ohm out.  Go with the cheapest/easiet route like mentioned above before replacing the fuel pump. good luck.

So I was on my way to the auto parts store for the filter and now I'm on the side of the road. There is no power at all and if I rev the engine it dies. If I feather the throttle it goes up, but if I hold it steady it dies. I adjusted the air/fuel mixture screw and a screw to the left of it right behind the spring.

Rev it up slightly and hold until it quits. Now look at the front of the carb... there should be a window or a small glass bull's eye with a dot on it in the middle. Does the fuel show in the glass???

Disregard the yellow writing.

720carb.jpg