project 620(possible)

Greenless

SO, i have been browsing f/s adds for about 2 years with little luck finding what i have been looking,(2 door dime or a 620) for until this morning.

a scrap yard that i drive by on the way to work every day had a 620 on a flatbed this morning. they have a title(she thinks, and its pa law that they do or technically they cant crush it)

anyway, i will be checking it over tonight or tomorrow morning, i need a few points to look for to make sure this thing is a viable project. my plans would be a carbed sr20 with a 5 speed, and down the road when i have the $$ possibly 4x4 and a lift. i dont need the engine or trans or interior, since that will all get swapped. so i just need to know what to look for on the body and frame? and what parts are hardest to source if they are missing?

my wife is gonna hate me. :devil:

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

IMO

floorpans

Fenders

roof

bed floor near cab

and of course if they de hooked it its not a real 620 soooo..... ya :rofl:

everything else can be found on ratsun and shipped for a decent price.

and id look for disc's in the front as a bonus since your looking at a swap

I looked into running dual carbs, or ITB's on a KA24DE, because the wiring and EFI seemed to complictated .... it isn't, and it's WAY cheaper/easier to just stick with the stock EFI

replacement parts/tech. support is easier to find for a stock EFI SR20 than a carb'd SR20 (only seen a few) ... . also (only seen a few SR20 620's) .. KA24 will be cheaper

i like sr20s i have owned 3 cars that run them. there is that and i want the carbs so the truck looks more like the engine belongs. i have dealt with wiring messes in the one engine swap i have completed, it wasnt too bad but i want to try carbs.

it has hooks, thats how i recognized it as a possible datsun before i hit the brakes to make sure.