ok i dont understand all these engine names so..

swamp_rat

i'll possibly be getting a mid 70's 620 soon and want to put a diff engine in it. at first i was thinking a 240sx engine but i read that with some swaps you have to fab all kindda stuff. the truck is already a standard so i think i would like to keep it standard. if i go to a fuel injected engine, what all would i have to do and take from the vehicle to retain the fuel injection and what would i have to do for it to work in the 620? i want something with more power but not alot of fab work to go into it. i've also seen the d21/hardbody engine in one of these, what goes into that? sorry for all the questions, im new to the datsun scene, s10's are just too damn simple i guess. and any particular engine/trans combo i should look for in a d21, 240 or older nissan z's?

forgot to add i know 240's have ka, ca and others, just dont know the difference of them.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

How much are you willing to spend...call DGR fabrication in San Jose, CA. Dan can tell you how much this swap will cost. 2nd. is your truck in good shape, if not, why build it up and spend like $3 K or more. 3rd, you will more than likely need to change your tranny and fabricate/weld, new cross member, and don't forget you will need stopping power therefore you will need to change brakes, may want to go 4 wheel brakes. And will you do this swap or have others do it for you.

I could be wrong but with what I mentioned above maybe $5 k or more.

Welcome swamp rat! Go buy that KC already! If the body is in swell shape, you're golden.

I know how you feel. You're digging into all the threads learning how to make the coolest 620. I felt the same way when I pulled home my non running 521.