Rebuilding my own engine (L20B)

SpenOne

So, I wanna get this car on the road already and i've pretty much got all the (engine) parts ready. I've pulled engines and trannies out of cars a bunch of times and i've changed out parts in multiple cars, but i've never had the guts to rebuild an engine. I changed out my headgasket once in my mazda 323 and never had an issue with that, but aside from that i have ZERO experience with engine rebuilds. I'm confident i can do it i'd just like to know what i'm up against before I start..lol.

I got a recent quote to rebuild it for $500 and i'm tempted to pay....

Heres what i have:

L16 Head (rebuilt with stock cam)

L20B Block (with timing cover)

ARP head bolts and Rod bolts

New pistons on the L20B rods

280 z turbo oil pump (was told it would work)

L20B alternator bracket

L20B 6 bolt flywheel

Timing chain kit

Gasket set

My father is also mechanic but in the middle of the rebuild he had to get a pacemaker and it hindered him from finishing it. It was left with a rebuilt head sitting on top of the block, new pistons installed on a freshly hot tanked block but the stock rod bolts were removed and replaced with the ARP's and never torqued down. Also need the oil pump and water pump installed. Instead of paying someone else to do it I kinda feel like i need to finish it for "US", but as stated before..i'd kinda like to know what im up against. Are the L Series engines delicate? forgiving? hard? easy? Should i grab my toolbag and my balls and go build this thing? Or should i sit back relax and pay for someone to give it back to me spic n' span with a warranty?..... :huh:

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic