1985 720 fuse box replacement issues

20240118_212152.thumb.jpg.178b39fcd2f91df8f02ce6e2a4045ad1.jpgSo I am new to this page, but I desperately need some help I have a 1985 720 that I purchased a new fuse box for. The old one looks to have caught on fire at some point in the past.

The issue I'm having is that the new wire colors don't match up to the old wire colors. On top of that it seems that some are not even in the same spots. I know nothing when it comes to electricity and I'm at a lost with what to do next. I thought this would be an easy fix..:(20240118_160912.thumb.jpg.b3274294bc9789748b66c1b4b85bebb2.jpg

• Like 1
  • Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

What was the old fuse box out of?

It really shouldn't matter. Ive replaced one before. Bad contact causes resistance causing heat that melted the plastic causing bad contact in a positive feedback loop. Release the terminals I think I used a straightened hair pin, and transfer to the new block.

There are four blocks of fuses. From the left, the first 5 fuses are turned on by the ignition switch. Fuses 6 and 7 are also on when switched to the accessory position. Fuses 8 through 13 are powered by the battery and are hot at all times with fuse 9 blank and unused*. The last two are 14 and 15 and are for right and left side headlights respectively and are powered at al times.  

* you can see that blank position in the picture of your fuse box.

The '80 fuse box is the most different with only 10 fuses.

The '81 and up should physically be the same for the rest of the 720s but the '81-'82 has a blank space for the #5 fuse which is used in the '83 and up for the electric fuel pump. Color wires don't matter as you'll be putting yours into it.

image.jpeg.f01dc4418a181de6c2e9d50ee854c1d5.jpeg

Above, the colors on the left side agree with what I have for the '81- and at least to '84