Help with getting clutch system straight

In my 510 I have an L18 with a 5 speed, I have been trying to set up the clutch hydraulics.

I have a master cylinder for 620 and slave cylinder for 620.

The clutch does not stiffen up and the slave cylinder barely pushes out.

Could it be that my perhaps my transmission is out of a Z? How would I diagnose this problem? Any special codes I can look for stamped on the tranny that would tell me what my trans is out of?

Thanks, Tony

• Like 1
  • Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Still has air trapped in it. The 620 slave should travel about 1.18" when pedal depressed.

If these are new master and slave OR if the master was emptied and gat air into it, it should be bled separately.  Get a small length of brake line you don't need, about a foot long with a fitting on the end. Connect to the clutch master outlet, and bend the other end up and around and into the reservoir. Repeatedly pump the clutch pedal until all air is expelled and there are no more bubbles. 

Remove and re-connect the clutch hydraulic line.

Make sure the master does not go empty for the remainder of the bleeding.

Loosen the bleeder on the slave, depress clutch pedal and hold.

Tighten the bleeder and lift up on the clutch pedal.

Loosen the bleeder on the slave, depress clutch pedal and hold.

Tighten the bleeder and lift up on the clutch pedal.

Repeat the above, making sure the master reservoir does not run dry, until all bubbles are expelled from the line and only clear brake fluid is coming out.

Make sure bleeder is tight, master is full.

You are done.

Could it be that my perhaps my transmission is out of a Z? How would I diagnose this problem? Any special codes I can look for stamped on the tranny that would tell me what my trans is out of?
Thanks, Tony