The noobs 72' 521 -= THE RUNDOWN FROM A-Z =-

Dylanb23

Alright kids gather around!

Its story time.

I know pictures are like crack for you Ratsun guys, so I made sure there were plenty.

I spent all day today inspecting my truck. from top to bottom. P1040965.jpg

The first thing I did was open the hood and started to play. First thing was check out the carb. The engine was rebuilt about a month or two ago so that should be solid.

The air filter was filthy, so I cleaned both my friend and I's filters.

P1040955.jpg

After driving around and trial and error, I need some help with my carb. Let me give you the run down.

- It idles a little high, now im not a professional but from the cars ive worked on I can say that something is fishy here. I dont know carbs to well, I know the basics.

So from the start. I have the idle down as far as it will go, to my knowledge, which isnt much so disregard that. It still idles a little high.

The throttle is strange, when it is at flat out idle and you barely touch the gas it sounds like it is about to die out then it picks up and revs. very strange. ive never seen that before.

Also this could be a number of things but after some run time and i turn it off the engine that could keeps on running. I will hold on and keep running anywhere from 1 - 10 seconds. then it shuts off.

I would like for it not to do this so that i dont look ridiculous when I get out of my car and its still sputtering.

(I can take more pictures for clarification or questions.)

P1040975.jpg

That went on for a while. and is still going on as we speak....

P1040945.jpg

I took a break from that and moved to the interior. I would do suspension but im inspecting and i already know that the suspension is crap.. that will be fixed later

So, the interior.

This is where i started.

P1040948.jpg

Looks ok, but I wanted to get down to the nitty gritty.

I probably should have taken more pictures here but I was busy.

I pulled out the seats, the vinyl, etc.