???need some advice???

cbattey224

hey guys as ive posted in the last couple days. im in need for a motor for the 510. mines an auto with an L16.

i just talked to a guy that builds datsun motors. he has a rebuilt L20B with a A87 Peanut head for $1200.00 and it i did this im still in need of a carb headers and manual trans. would this be worth it to do? is there any trans i can get that will bolt in with out having to have a driveshaft made. not in the budget. any advice would help out im new to the datsun seen

Edited by datzenmike
  • Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The intake and exhaust from your L16 will bolt to the new L20B A-87 head. You don't need a header, the L16 manifold is more than good enough. You could use you L16 carb but will need larger L20B jets or better get an L20B carb or Weber and adapter.

What's wrong with the trans? All you need is the automatic flex plate from another L20B or 280z / zx car and it should bolt up to the stock automatic.

idk thought manual would put out more power and be faster?? would the auto driveshaft work for a manual trans?? headers wouldnt be more power?? the intake ports arent smaller. im not too good about this stuff trying to learn all i can thanks p.s how much is that plate??

The manual doesn't make more power but it doesn't waste as much as the auto.

If the transmissions, (auto to manual) are the same length then the auto driveshaft can be used.

A header only gains a small amount IF the stock exhaust is crap to begin with. The L16/18 exhaust is almost perfect for a stock exhaust. No improvement will be noticed unless the engine is heavily built up and revved to the extreme.

The L16 intake will work on an L20B and at least get you going. Yes the L16 will have smaller runner diameter and will be fine to 4,000 to 5,000 RPMs or more. Just keep your eyes open for an L20B intake from a '78-'80 motor and swap it later.