First time doing bondo ??s

cbattey224

:confused: so yea i have nvr done bondo i have a truck bagged and shaved down but i didnt do the bondo or shaving on it. My 510 has a couple dents dings and rust holes. i can patch the rust holes im good with a welder. im just new to the body works. can i get all the tips and secrets to doing proper body work. and the ( DO'S and DON"TS). thanks

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

a couple ??s

how to prep the spots that need work??

how to mix the bondo currectly??

what grit sand paper for what??

how thick do i do my layers of bondo??

where to get the tools to spred the bondo??

do i need to take off all the old paint bondo or whatever i fun into??

a couple ??s

how to prep the spots that need work??----------------- with a da with 40 or 80 grit to metal and leave a nice feather edge of the outer material using 180

how to mix the bondo currectly?? --------------Yikes... you will get the hang of it!, a little less hardener is better than too much

what grit sand paper for what?? --------------40 or 80 to prep the area for filler, feather materials with 180, block filler with 80 them 120 and skim the entire worked area with 180, prep entire surface with 320 <---- all DA work other than the block work.... wetsand (real automotive grade paper) primer with 400 then 800 (grit varies depending on primer and paint material you will be using

how thick do i do my layers of bondo?? --------------whatever it takes... too thick = pinholes

where to get the tools to spred the bondo?? -----------------paint store can assist you