Pope Face's 1970 L521 Build

pope_face

Alright, I've only been on here a few days, but I've gleaned just about enough information to somewhat figure out what my plans are with this truck, although at the moment everything is still debatable and I'm always open to new ideas...

But, there's no point in me asking for suggestions if you don't know my abilities, so I ought to go through that first... this is the first "official" rebuild I'm undertaking... I've owned a couple cars so far, but by no means am I an expert. I've never undertaken an engine rebuild, I've never done bodywork, I've never done welding, and I have limited formal knowledge of the technical details of most vehicles... I do, however, have the inclination (and I hope aptitude) to learn more about cars and get things done right the first time... Also, I tend to ask a lot of questions and ramble on incessantly (as you've all likely been been subjected to already), but hopefully you'll get used to it... :rolleyes:

Those of you in the truck forum have likely already been introduced to Madeline... A 1970 L521, currently with a J13 and a four speed. I got her about two months ago, almost to the day, but so far there hasn't been any actual work happening, save for research and brainstorming. I don't actually get my garage space for another month either, but I've got plenty of time to do the build, and it'll give me some more time to think about where I'm going with this first before I get knee-deep in it. However, there are some basic principles I'll do my best to stick to:

1) Cost.