divinehoodlum

divinehoodlum

Hey guys! I’m new to the world of 510s. I picked up a 1972 510 sedan mexico spec a little over a week ago. I love the car but I hate the solid axle. Any ideas of how to go about doing an irs conversion? Don’t necessarily want to keep it datsun branded, just want to be able to put coilovers on the rear.

• Like 3
  • Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Too much work for little gain. You want lower? have the leaf springs de-arched and add an extra one to firm them up. If you hate the ride it's likely, hell almost certain, that the shocks are worn out, and the fronts also. 

Always wondered what rear axle was used. Surely not the H-190 like in the wagon. Maybe the H-165?? Also the engine is a J15?

• Like 2

It all comes down to the time, effort, and money spent putting an IRS in a solid axle car. You'd do better to just buy a US spec 510 if you want coil-overs. That said, if your wanting to make a statement with your skill and talent, you could build a tub rear chassis IRS around a multi-link setup and blow some minds.

The Mexican spec 510 is kind of a hoj poj of leftover cheeper parts for that market. I crawled all over a '73 Mexi-dime at a car show and the side markers and dash were from a '68, the badging and grill were stamped chromed metal and not stainless. IMO that's what made it cool. The Unibody and rear chassis drivetrain/suspension are significantly different from the US spec PL510, so you'd be starting from scratch. It's not a bolt on by any stretch, but here's a guy on Ratsun who put a '67 Datsun 411 wagon on a Miata chassis. The dude's build thread is biblical. 

The first thing I'd focus on is swopping that J15, because with that engine there's no need for coil-overs.

Edited by paradime