1968 Datsun - Original as it can be....

Wiz

First time poster, I have recently purchased a 1968 Datsun 1600 to which I will be re-building to as original as possible.

I do not have any set rules just winging it as I go. I have a minor mechanical background but will try my best (builder by trade). I have found these forums extremely helpful and thought that I should share back the love so people can learn from my many mistakes along the way...

Current status:

I bought the car as a shell

I have had it resprayed and had the engine refurbished.

I have rebuilt the wiper system, I learnt how rare these things are for the 68 - Searching high and low for a wiper motor. Didn't know what i had until I broke it.

Next step fuel system....

img%5Dimg%5Dimg%5Dimg%5Dimg%5Dimg%5DHi,

• Like 9
  • Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

1 hour ago, datzenmike said:

L20B pistons were very dished. To get flattops we over bore to 86mm and use 280zx ones.

That was our solution for a bygone era. Now Rebello Racing and Z Car Depot sell the same Hypatec pistons in 85mm. 

• Like 2
13 hours ago, paradime said:

That was our solution for a bygone era. Now Rebello Racing and Z Car Depot sell the same Hypatec pistons in 85mm. 

Interesting.  Just a minor correction- stock ZX bore is 86 and that is the piston size Z Car depot offers, along with 0.020"/ 0.5 mm oversize as well.  This size of course works for L20B with 1 mm overbore.

Out of stock currently there. Rebello doesn't have details on their site without calling.

• Like 2
4 hours ago, iceman510 said:

Interesting.  Just a minor correction- stock ZX bore is 86 and that is the piston size Z Car depot offers, along with 0.020"/ 0.5 mm oversize as well.  This size of course works for L20B with 1 mm overbore.

Out of stock currently there. Rebello doesn't have details on their site without calling.

Nope, Rebello does not do e-commerce. Or text. Or email.