Datsun 720 Engine Bay

Hey, y'all, I'm new to datsun. I'm new to the trucks. I have a plan to buy either a 620 or 720. When I get one, I want to put a new engine in it, but I have no clue how big the engine bay is. I've looked everywhere for the answer, and even tried looking up how long the z24 engine is, just to see if that'd help me in any way. Does anyone know just how big the engine bay is, and the length of the z24?

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Is this another V8 swap? I looked at a 305 chev for my 620, and it's not going to fit unless the fire wall is cut back or the radiator mounted in the bed. Stick to V6 engines or better yet a 4 cylinder.

• Like 1
1 hour ago, datzenmike said:

Is this another V8 swap? I looked at a 305 chev for my 620, and it's not going to fit unless the fire wall is cut back or the radiator mounted in the bed. Stick to V6 engines or better yet a 4 cylinder.

Its not another v8 swap lol. Im not that basic. I'm wanting to put an rb in it

LOL THAT won't hunt. I'm guessing that you have an RB just laying around? It'll fit an 810/Maxima or a Z car. Skip the 620/720.

The bore centers for L, Z and KA are 95.5mm and the SR20 is 97mm so just add  7.5" to the front of an L20B in a 620 or a Z24 in a 720 and the fan will be grinding the back of the grill. Or cutout the fire wall and loose your heater. V8s don't fit, V6s will. 

16 minutes ago, datzenmike said:

LOL THAT won't hunt. I'm guessing that you have an RB just laying around? It'll fit an 810/Maxima or a Z car. Skip the 620/720.

The bore centers for L, Z and KA are 95.5mm and the SR20 is 97mm so just add  7.5" to the front of an L20B in a 620 or a Z24 in a 720 and the fan will be grinding the back of the grill. Or cutout the fire wall and loose your heater. V8s don't fit, V6s will.