carb jet sizes

number3on

I have a 1982 pick up. Five speed, 720 engine w/70,000miles. I replaced the carb with a Weber 32/36 DGAV 2 years ago. Runs well enough, but I think it could do better. I think I need to adjust the size of some of the jets. Right now it's running   #55 primary idle jet, #50 secondary idle, #145 primary main jet, #135 secondary main, #165 primary air jet and#160 secondary. Those are the numbers stamped into the jets. Are there any changes in jet size that will work better for this carb in this truck? Also, does manual linkage serve any purpose if I'm running an electric choke? I'm kinda new at all this, and I'm a gal, but I'm learning! Thanx  you may not ALL be handsome, but your handy!

• Like 1
  • Replies 1
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Unless wildly out in size (unlikely as it has been running) small tweaks in jet sized are not likely to be discernible to the driver. While there is a theoretically perfect fuel ratio (14.7 to 1) that matches correct fuel to correct air needed to burn it, on a graph it would be represented by a rather broad bell curve and it will also run pretty much the same on either side. Say 14 (slightly rich) to 15.5 (slightly lean) Keep in mind that there is almost infinite variables for correct jet sizes and the same carburetor will act differently at a different location with someone else. What works at sea level will not be exactly the same inland because of the altitude difference.