Getting my sd22 720 started

637906BA-FB05-4B84-9676-39CB3691B80F.thumb.jpeg.90b6fe000987768941f6fc6b34551167.jpegWas running when purchased

retro fitted sd22 with 4x4

…. Has been troubled with reliable craftsmanship. 
trouble shooting why it won’t start… fuel filters, possibly 

The pump runs and the manual pump seems to be working and priming properly.

battery and starter are strong. Possibly glow plugs?

I am new to this game, but I know this rig will outlive me if I treat her right.

I am dedicated to learning out to set her up right and enjoy the Ratsun life.

please help.

After getting her started again, the next project will be deciding if I can replace engine gaskets on my own….

building a new wiring harness and dash board for the necessities.

Assessment of transmission as it gets stuck in reverse every know and then….

suspension

cosmetic

I would love some advice

lets start with trouble shooting why she stopped running.

it’s just happened one day after a drive.

all warmed up, and even with the use of glow plugs struggled to start.

how do I check for fuel line issues when I am by myself and can’t see when I turn the key?

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

wayno (on here) is the SD guy.

Why would you want to replace all gaskets? Only fix what's broken. If there is leakage of fuel or oil, degrease and watch for where it's coming from. Most likely place is a loose or bad valve cover gasket. It's intended to be often removed for servicing and any leak here will migrate down and all over the engine. Looks bad but is a simple fix. Again, don't cause yourself more work than necessary.

Love the diesel and always wondered why Nissan didn't offer it in the 4x4. Maybe too under powered?

Where did you buy this truck? Vancouver WA?

These SD series Diesel engines are not easy to start when it is cold outside, does it try to hit or does it just turn over without anything happening?