wierd handling issues

well on the freeway, my car seems to want to go somewhere else besided my house because the car starts rocking from side to side at high speeds.

any help?

-my tires arent flat

-i have 2 new tires with different tread(almost identical though, just a newer version of the same tire)

-i dont know if the guys balanced it right.

right now i think it will probably be the balance issue

any help?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not good at guessing this stuff over the computer but what kinda tires? are they shitty ones? I've put cheapy tires on my car the end result was scary freeway driving. Are they on the front.

I have had the same problem most often its a crappy alignment, to much toe or it can be the tread pattern my old tires AVS 100s would track all over the place when the cars toe was f'd up fixing it helped but it still did it a bit, changed over to the falken rt615 no more problems

I too get erratic steering issues only seems to happen when I let go of the steering wheel, weird.. On a serious note... Have you checked you're TREs? Does the car follow paint lines real bad? If you momentarily let go of the steering wheel does it visibly vibrate or shake? Also, will the car hold a straight line on the road?

See if you can get us more details on the symptoms. Or try rotating the tires front to back and see if the problems moves to the rear or is gone.

Rocking from side to side? Tire imbalance won't do that. Poor alignment can cause it to track (wander) side to side. With radial tires and in-spec alignment, a stock 1200 tracks pretty good, as well as some new cars ... which isn't saying much. It does wander a bit.

Is your front sway bar still connected? Maybe that's the problem, it prevents sway.

-i have 2 new tires with different tread(almost identical though, just a newer version of the same tire)

-i dont know if the guys balanced it right.