Need help for a 720 short drive shaft

DadofDatsunLover

I am new to the this site so I apologize if this is not posted in the right place.  I live in Alaska and need help finding the short drive shaft out of a ‘82 Datsun 720. It is the one that goes between the transmission and the transfer case.  I have am in need of a short one.  I have looked everywhere I can think of online and junk yards but have come up empty.   Since I live in Alaska my options are limited unless I happen to find one sitting in someone’s back yard.  I have a 1985 720 but it has the shorter transmission so the drive shaft is too long.  

If anyone can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.  If anyone has one for sale, please let me know.  

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Do you have any driveline shops near you? Probably not, but any driveline shop can make it. Maybe source it out to someone in a more populated area. They can walk you through how to measure and count splines, then they build it and ship it to you. Most shops can build a shaft like that for a couple hundred bucks, and yes, I believe all the parts to make that from scratch are available new.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I’m going to hit young’s gear this morning.  I just don’t know if 1. They will be able to make one, 2. How much it will cost or 3. If they can do it in a timely manner.   Just because they are the only shop in town.  Jones driveline and machine is no longer in service.  Or at least their phone number is no longer in service.   I’ll report back when I talk to Youngs Gear.  

thank you

• Like 2

Well, I guess it boils down to how bad you need it. Can you burn a few days/weeks looking for a used one? Or do you need it right now? $350 is a bit on the high side, but if using all new parts, I could totally justify the cost.

There's an old saying - want in one hand and shit in the other one and see which one fills up faster.