Introduction to myself and my '70 521

bims

Hello Ratsun members!

I've been a lurker for a year or so but haven't been a member of a forum for ages. I live in Everett, Washington with my girlfriend and bought my 1970 521 in June of 2020. I've been addressing its issues at a snail's pace as this is my first project car, and I am hoping to take my skills beyond the beginner level. Some of my experience is lacking, so I don't always know the proper names of parts or tools, or how to complete every test or task. I love this truck! I am thrilled by the idea of getting to know every inch of it by working on it myself. 

Some info about me: I'm 33 years old and am an artist, graphic designer, mold maker, and am employed as an Assembly and CNC Technician for Common Fibers, a carbon fiber fabrication shop located in Seattle. We're currently working with SSC on their Tuatara, Tuatara Aggressor, and Tuatara Striker cars which is very exciting to be a part of. I have access to spare parts and seconds from many makes and models that I plan on modifying to fit my truck, as well as some custom parts I want to make, like a rollpan bumper, and I will be posting about these projects as they come along. I also plan on molding some of the more aesthetic pieces, and I will make posts about these in case there is a need or desire for them.

Here are some parts I plan on molding: 

- glove box interior
- glove box door knob

- tray panel
- tray frame
- light knob (ingraved, set of 4)
- "D" hood emblem
- "Datsun 1600" fender badge