521 brake adjustment

I've read several of the posts on brakes here on the forum and still have a question about brake adjustment on my 521.  I installed all most brake components new  from the master cylinder down to the new shoes with exception of rear brake springs and front hard brake lines.  up to this point i've bench bled the master cylinder at least three time and the wheel cylinders more than that.  i've adjusted the brakes to a light drag and still i cannot get a good hard pedal.  initially the pedal feels good just sitting in the truck but when driven it takes some effort to get the truk to stop and the pedal goes almost to the floor.  At this point i'm beginning to suspect i have a bad "new" brake master cylinder but the one thing i didnt do was to adjust the shoes  as described in one of the posts i.e. adjust till hard to turn wheel step on brake hard and if the wheel can still be turned adjust some more , etc.  Is this important or is one try to adjust till hard to turn sufficient.  Its been a long time since i drove a vehicle with 4 wheel drums so i dont remember how good(bad) these things are supposed to be.  

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

most masters on 521s work or they dont.  I seen them leak out in 5 years for the cheap ones which is only the parts left in around to use now. Taiwan or Chinese maybe Italy.

I would tighten all of the drums up till a slight drag. and maybe a little more in the back as these brakes dont adjust by themselves. Usually when you at half pedal the rears need to be adjusted. but dont want to much brake lock up in rear as most people dont push on the brakes any harder thinking they lockedup but really its only the rears untill the later leveling sensor was installed to appy pressure equally to the brakes from and rear(dual master)