wiring woes

hi there, Newbie here. been putting 1970 510 2door, back together after being apart for 30+ years.Previous owner took it ALL apart. Many missing parts.Anyway got it mostly together,just having wiring trouble, with headlights, signal lights. horn & brake lights work a couple times then both stop working @ same time. 4-ways work & all marker lights. Tried cleaning contacts, switching swtiches,repaceing relays,changeing flasher units,ect. There were many good ideas but haveing no luck. the lastest though is that maybe i am useing engine harness from a wagoon.Seems there is slight differance? Question is can they be inter-changed ? or is the cause of my greif? Should i seek out another harness/ or is there a fix. Posting pictures is a difficult as i am Very low tech. Any suggestions would be VERY apreciated !! Can not fix this by myself. Thanks All. Richard.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If they work, even temporarily then they must be wired ok. 

Wagons have a different brake and turn signal set up from the sedan so I don't know how you got that to work. Sedans have a brake light and a separate turn signal bulb. Wagons have a single bulb and the turn signal switch disconnects the brake to the side that is signaling.

Electric stuff is very confusing to me. it only worked for the first few times.had stuff un-plugged & was trying random stuff.Maybe something to do with bad alternator or maybe the way i have my coil wired? M useing a 2 liter with electronic ignition & no resistor.might have dash wiring from a wagon too ?? ALL very confusing to me. Just graspping @ straws.

Dont use a wagon harness!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but dont know if the engine side harness if different.  and hooks up under glove box.

if it works then then its wired correctly just soemthing loose.