Converting rear straight axle to independent rear suspension

Hello fellow ratsun friends,

I am fairly new to this datsun world. Just last year I picked up a 1972 datsun 510 sedan (4 door). My plans for the car are to do a complete resto mod. I will be installing an sr20det which I have came to find out it has been done plenty times. I wanted to reach out in hopes that I can get help/advice from the professionals on something that came up. After purchasing the car I began my search on different options for engine, suspension, wheels/tires etc. Well I came to find out that I bought a mexican imported 510. It has a straight axle in the rear with leaf springs. I am now trying to convert it to an IRS setup. The obstacles that need to be addressed seem to be cutting the wheel well and making strut housings for the new coilovers being installed. Also,  it looks like I dont have frame rails that run all the way to the back for the mounting of the new differential. My question is; if there is anyway to get measurements for these things to be fabricated? Has anybody else done something like this? I appreciate your guys help in advance. I am excited to become part of this community. 

Thank you,

DatDime1972  

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

For an SR20 I would keep it solid axle and swap the H-190 from a 510 wagon in. The H-190 is much larger and stronger than the R-165 in the IRS. By the time you add enough spring and shock stiffness you might as well have a solid axle anyway. IRS is over rated and has it's own drawbacks.

Thanks for the information and the speedy response. I was thinking instead of running the r165 I would run a wrx/sti diff with an lsd. I would need to see what kind of suspension set up to run with a solid axle. I am not a big fan of the leaf spring set up. But, if it works then it works. I will definitely keep that in mind. I appreciate the feedback.