The Green Machine Reborn - 1973 620

I've been posting pictures on instagram for a couple months now, but I've come to realize that I like how much the community here at Ratsun helps everyone out. Moving forward I'll be documenting my build here in the hopes of gleaning some wisdom from all of you. Thanks in advance!

When I was 18 I got an 73 620 as my first real truck, and it was a jalopy. For $500 bucks I got a truck that was used to haul firewood, had 250k+ miles on it, and no back window. I loved it! I wrenched on the thing every day I had off from delivering pizzas in it. Lowered it a couple inches, unwound the torsion bars, and got some old aluminum rims from a friend's friend. I drove the living tar out of it for about 3 years, and while it never really ran great, I still loved that thing. Funny how we can become attached to something so un-beautiful. Eventually I got better jobs and needed something more reliable, and so I traded her in at a dealership. Ever since then I've always had fond memories of her, and hoped one day to get another one as a project.

My original 620:

avhbGiM.jpg

So finally, about 2 months ago I bought a 1973 Datsun 620 off of craigslist from the Denver area.

bizXc9N.jpg?1

The engine runs, after a little bit of fuel pump and carb work, but it's still a tired L16. I shortly found a donor 77 620 KC with a L20B and a 5 speed tranny in it.

I96XTnV.jpg

Got them both into the garage:

C0vZyHa.jpg

I've pulled that motor and tranny out, stripped the motor down, and am about ready to take it to the machine shop:

Qbq54z9.jpg

M95aBqv.jpg

U67 Head:

bqNxOkF.jpg