Manual choke in an 84 720?

Bobby Ozone

I’m new to carbureted engines. Looking to upgrade the stock hitachi in my 720 and I see that everyone seems to agree on the Webber 32/36 DGEV. But, when looking into it, I see that the DGV is the same with a manual choke. Something about taking off one more electrical connection sounds good to me. Anyone have any experience with this? 

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The DGV has a bit to be desired for fast-idle at choked - it doesn't adjust, and is set kinda low.  The DGV lacks a vacuum actuated choke breaker - one less potential failure along with the wire that the mice will chew.  The choke cable that came with my DGV kit was kinda tough to operate, especially screwed into plastic on the dash.  I used a generic cable from O'Reiley.  The DGEV is fine, but I prefer the manual choke for simplicity.  Go with the DGEV if it is important that a mechanic will be able to actually get the truck into the bay on a cold day without having to get three other guys to push it from the tailgate.

• Like 1
19 minutes ago, DIY 1985 said:

The DGV lacks a vacuum actuated choke breaker - one less potential failure along with the wire that the mice will chew. 

Remote chance of mice chewing a wire, I've never ever seen this but I hear it happens, even less it will select the power wire to the choke. It just never happens.

The choke cable that came with my DGV kit was kinda tough to operate, especially screwed into plastic on the dash.  I used a generic cable from O'Reiley.  The DGEV is fine, but I prefer the manual choke for simplicity. 

You have to actually operate it including shutting it off. The manual choke is the opposite of simplicity. There's nothing to install or operate with the electric and fewer moving parts, in fact you never give it a thought when starting.