Need help with my first Datsun

dieseldude

Hello everyone.

Need some help and/or direction. I am new to Datsuns but have extensive experience with Toyota Land Cruisers. 

My 17 year old son was given a super clean 1982 720 regular cab 4x4. The truck spent it's active life in Riverside California and Yuma Arizona. The previous owner brought it up to Canada in 2008 and it has been parked inside a clean workshop since then. He started talking parts off the engine - carb, manifolds etc. and then gave up on it. The PO has since passed away and his son had no interest in it - but he knew he wanted to give it to someone who would appreciate it. He knows about my crazy love affairs with my Land Cruisers (I've got seven of them plus a whole bunch or parts) so he knew that it's the right family. 

The engine (I believe it's the Z22 - it has the eight spark plugs) is seized. Penetrating oil has been used to see if it will free up. Hope the rings are just a little tight after 12 years of sitting. 

My questions are: 

1) if the engine is pooched - should I rebuild? Replace? If replace, with what?

2) it currently has a 4 speed. Is that okay or should I also swap it out for a 5 speed? This change is quite favourable in the Cruiser crowd. 

I haven't figured out how to attach pictures yet. I'll send some once I do. 

Dan

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to Ratsun Dan. The '82 did indeed have a gas 2.2 liter, Z series NAPS (Nissan anti pollution system) engine. If it was running and then parked in a dry garage it should run now. Find out why he would start removing things off of a good running engine. Maybe it wasn't running well.

Check the oil. If it ran dry and spun a bearing I doubt he would fill it up. If low oil be suspicious.

Drain the oil and pull the oil filter and check the oil inside. If a spun bearing it will contain fine metal flakes in it. A sure sign a bearing is spun and seized.