Head Bolts and Gasket

LTM

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this site and it's my first post. I look at this site for advice in repairing my 1983 Nissan King Cab Z24. I blew my head gasket twice between cyl. 3 & 4 and both times I used NAPA (Victor Reinz) head gasket set. I did not replace the head bolts. After the second head gasket blew I started re torquing the head bolts one at a time on tune ups. A bolt on the intake side second to the last bolt, snapped on removal. Now I have a bigger issue. I need recommendation and part # if available,  for head gasket and replacement head bolts. I've owned this truck for 37 yrs. and   I believe it has a lot more life to it.

• Like 1
  • Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I've had zero problems with FelPro for stock applications. Possibly the head is not flat or warped slightly. It'll have to come off to get the head bolt out anyway. Use an industrial straight edge across the length of the head and if a 0.004" feeler gauge will slip under it anywhere it should be planed.

Before you do anything know that it is imperative to block the timing chain tensioner from falling out when the cam sprocket is loosened and removed. If not add 4-6 hours to the job.

• Like 1

It depends on why the bolt stuck in the first place. If it was corroded by the blowing head gasket, over time it gets rusted into place and can be very hard to drill. I repaired one a long time ago on a L28 that was so bad we had to oversize the hole and glue in a slug then drill and tap that.

If there is any remaining bolt sticking out of the block surface, grind it flat before you attempt to drill it. This will help you get the center punch in the center of the bolt.

Heat and penetrating oil will be your friend on this repair.

• Like 1