1982 Datsun Maxima project

I have a 82 Datsun Maxima diesel and I’m new to the Datsun scene, I need helping figuring out if I can do a 5 lug conversion on it and if I can use a s13-s14 5lug conversion kit since I can pretty much swap the s13 or s14 coilovers onto it or if there is a specific kit that I need for it. Any help is appreciated and thank you for your time. 

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The Maxima has a strut with integral spindle. The S13/13 are separate and the hubs are vastly different with different bearings so they won't interchange. If you want a 5 bolt strut the 300zx turbo had them. You'll need the calipers with them as I doubt swapping the 5 bolt hub onto the maxima will fit. 

I guess this is because you want to run to-days 19" rims??? Why not look for a set of factory 810 or Maxima aluminum mags that look correct? 280zx were also nice.

On 6/3/2020 at 8:14 PM, datzenmike said:

The Maxima has a strut with integral spindle. The S13/13 are separate and the hubs are vastly different with different bearings so they won't interchange. If you want a 5 bolt strut the 300zx turbo had them. You'll need the calipers with them as I doubt swapping the 5 bolt hub onto the maxima will fit. 

I guess this is because you want to run to-days 19" rims??? Why not look for a set of factory 810 or Maxima aluminum mags that look correct? 280zx were also nice.

It’s all apart of the learning curve and process for me. I’ll try the z32 strut and see if it works if not then back to the drawing board. And thanks for the advice. I’m just trying to make it different