510 cranks, but won’t fully start. Help!

So I’ve been trying to get my car running, but I can’t seem to get it to fully turn over. It’s a stock l16.

Im pretty sure I set up the tdc correctly and followed the 1-3-4-2 firing order, but the engine only does a slow crank. Maybe my timing might actually be off but I can’t tell.

If anyone knows any solutions, please reply . I can send videos of how it sounds through email if needed. Thanks.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The engine is stock.

It came off a 521 since the original engine in my 510 was blown, so I ended up swapping it in. I did add a Weber 32/36 electric choke carburetor. Maybe that might cause the problem? Since I’m not an expert mechanic or anything, the main problem I would think it could be would be timing. The timing marks are slightly different then the ones that were on my original l16, but I doubt that really makes a difference, right?

I actually did not see it run.

I just took the guy’s word who sold me the engine.

Maybe I got screwed with an engine that’s shot?

Id have to do a compression test to really tell, right?

Well time to start with some basic stuff.

Take the valve cover off  wiggle every rocker arm. You will have to bump the engine with the starter till the valve spring is all the way up. The rocker should be very slightly loose and wiggle. As long as they all have some slight looseness they will do for now.

Take the distributor cap off and turn the engine till the points are fully open. The points rub on a 4 lobe cam that opens and closes them. Set on the highest point of one of those lobes. The gap should be 0.018" to 0.020" OR the thickness of a matchbook cover.

Yes firing order is 1342 but in a counter clockwise direction.

Pull a plug wire off, put an old plug in the end and lay on a grounded surface. Try starting the engine. Do you see a spark????

Is the battery fully charged up?