Radio harness

JuanOch0a

I took out the harness behind the dash from my 84 nissan 720, and I really want to fix the radio wiring.

The colors go as follows:

Brown wire

Black with blue stripe

Red with blue stripe

Red with yellow stripe

Green with red stripe

Black 

Black with white stripe

And 2 more brown wires (one with a white stripe) connected from the radio connector and they connect somewhere else.

I would really appreciate it if I got some help on this as it's my first time working on something so old

• Like 1
  • Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Only 8 wires on the radio plug.

Brown wire........................................ Power from the #7 fuse, also powers the cigar lighter.

Black with blue stripe....................... Goes to ground also grounds the cigar lighter.

Red with blue stripe.......................... Goes to lighting and...

Red with yellow stripe...................... Goes to lighting... You could just ground one of these and get power off the Brown. Light would be on all the time. So what?

Light Green with red stripe............... Left speaker

Light Green........................................ Left speaker

Light Green/Black............................. Right speaker

Light Green/White............................. Right speaker

• Like 2

Unless the schematic is wrong  I posted in a previous post, the wiring harness has 9 wires. This is at the Harness that connects to the Radio.

It needs to be determined of the 2 Brown wires which one is ACC 12 volts (with ignition on) once this is done, the wires are as followed.

Brown (as determined above)                     ACC 12 volts

Black with Blue Stripe                                   Body Ground

Red with Blue Stripe                                      Radio Light that increases and decreases with Illumination Control Unit - Variable side