My Grandpa's 1978 Datsun 620 pickup

LivingLikeLarry99

Hey Everyone, 

I'm new to the Datsun Community and am ready to learn as much here as I possibly can. My Grandpa has a 1978 Datsun 620 pickup and he's decided he wants to give it to me as he's starting to get up in years (69) and can't drive so well anymore. But before he does he wants me to help him restore it. He's loves Datsuns/Nissans and has always worked on all his cars but he's had a heart attack already then retired and hasn't done much on his own since then (2012). Anyway the truck ran and drove up till about 2 months or so ago. It needs some work I'll explain after and it definitely needs a paint job, including the original Datsun Logos and grill. I'll post pictures this Sunday when I go over there again. But I'll definitely need your guy's expertise and know how so my grandpa and I can get the old girl back on the road with some class. Thanks again.

• Like 1
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Is the 1978 620 one he bought new? GGPA620 has his great grandfather's 1976 620, which his great grandfather bought new. So he has a lot of history behind him. Just wondering if you have similar history to go with the pickup.

Don

4 hours ago, 620slodat said:

Is the 1978 620 one he bought new? GGPA620 has his great grandfather's 1976 620, which his great grandfather bought new. So he has a lot of history behind him. Just wondering if you have similar history to go with the pickup.

Don

My Grandpa bought it off an Older lady back in '80 According to him. So 1 year after she bought it so I'd say brand new. It's been in the family all those years since then. And he's had many adventures with it. I wish he could share here but he's not exactly Tech savvy.