74 620 L18 burning oil

sanyantho

Hi Guys,

Once again Im in need of help. My 620 has been burning a lot of oil lately, I did some research on this forum, but havent came up with a solution. Here is what know so far. The cylinder is not leaking, there isnt any white or blue smoke coming out the tail pipe, the vent from the crankshaft to the pvc value is connected, the hose from the value cover to the air filter is clean and opened. Is there anything else I should check? I am not a mechanic, but I have manage to get my little truck running from the help of members of this website. So any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Sanyantho

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Exactly what is a lot?  A quart every couple of thousand miles? More? less??

Lets assume that it isn't burning any oil. What's left?..... Leaking. Get a sheet of cardboard and slide under the engine for the weekend. Check Monday. Got any drips? front? one side? rear near the transmission?

• Like 1
24 minutes ago, datzenmike said:

Exactly what is a lot?  A quart every couple of thousand miles? More? less??

Lets assume that it isn't burning any oil. What's left?..... Leaking. Get a sheet of cardboard and slide under the engine for the weekend. Check Monday. Got any drips? front? one side? rear near the transmission?

Losing a quart every 100 miles or so. I will get a cardboard and slide it under the engine for the weekend.

Thanks

leaks oil or it don't. look under after parking. I alwasy pick a clean parking spot then ck later on for leaks. I had a water leak and was lazy to actually ck where it was coming from blaming the Chinese 3 core radiator. But radiator is far fwd and leak was more aft. notice water pump area. I tighten the bolts down and now no leak

smokes a lot or it don't ck the pipe for excessive oil.