L18, ITBs, Megasquirt and other questions

slowlearner

Hi guys,

In the throws of getting a hot L18 ready for a 510 I've just bought. The plan has always been to convert the car to EFI using a megasquirt 2 (Microsquirt) ECU. Then yesterday, my neighbor, an old ski boat racer and machinist suggested we try something different than building a plenum for my weber manifolds and welding injector bungs on them. In a moment of brilliance I pulled out these old ITBs I had for a VW motor and the spacing of the ports is very similar. So we're hoping to make some alloy adaptors and use them with more modern injectors.

I personally think they'll suit the era and look of the Datsun, but I've never used ITBs before. I had a single TB on my last car with turbo/Microsquirt EFI and loved it. So I have some questions...

1. I'm not going to use a plenum, because I have foam sock filters. I'm wondering about using the intake air temp and where to put it. Would it be ok to put it in the open air right next to the sock filters?

2. Are there any things I need to know about L series 4s and ITBs? Do they have some weird flow dynamics I should know about?

3. I assume my brake booster and MAP sensor will need a vacuum block to work correctly with the ITBs?

Any other insights on EFI on L series 4s is highly appreciated. I'm a Datto newby atm having moved across from aircooled VWs.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm curious about the ECM/ECU technology these days. With the rising popularity of systems like FiTech and Holley Sniper, is there a simpler system for the non-4 barrel crowd. What I mean is, could one simply purchase an FiTech system (because they're cheap) and scrap the throttle body, but use everything else. If so, would the computing be up to par for a custom application? They are "self learning", which can be good and bad.

It's on my list of things to try.