720 Gas to SD22 Diesel Conversion

CJ7fun

Hi all looking for advise: We have a 83 720 Gas 4X4 with a seized Z24 engine. I also have a 81 720 2wd with a good running SD22 and a rough body. My goal is to have a 4X4 diesel 720 for cruising the Oregon logging roads and minor Hwy travel to get to the logging roads (No Freeway speed needed, not with a SD22 :). The 4X4 has 3:89 axles and 30" tires.  I would like to use the 4X4 gas frame and move the frame pads for the motor mounts. (I am a profession tech, have hoist, welder and fab tools.) I am going to swap the engine, transmission, fuel tank, wire harnesses, cluster. My main concern is the oil pan.  Is there room to clear the front diff?  Has anyone else done this?  Would a custom oil pan and oil pickup tube work?  Go to a straight axle? (Not really making a rock crawler)  What else am I missing? I know there are lots of little things in a swap. Thanks, for any input

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Wayno (on this web site) is the SD-22 and SD-25 expert. He would be able to tell you if the oil pan will work with the stock independent 4 X 4 front pumpkin ((I don't thank it will work). He put an SD-25 (22?) into a 720 frame. I think that he went SAS though instead of independent suspension. He also put the diesel wire harness into the 521 cab, and put that onto the diesel frame. So, he is well experienced in what you are thinking of doing.