Gear Box

MikelB

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Had the truck looked at cause I had an adjustment and new tires put on a month ago and it was still pulling. The gear box needs replaced, the ball joints needs replaced and the tire rod needs replaces. 

I bought the truck for $2000, iv'e put over $3500 into it (I have all the recites for the work) Im a college student and can't continue to pay this much for a truck so I'm currently posting it on craigslist. 

• Like 1

A leak won't make it pull to one side....

I'm with Mike, you don't need, and can't handle a 35 year old truck while going to college.

By taking it to someone else, you have shown that no, you can't handle it.

The majority of shops out there feed on 'novices' like you.
Going in, asking questions about things you don't understand, is like chumming sharks.

• Like 3

Nor does it necessarily need replacing. Probably the pitman arm seal. If you have the tools and space and a factory service manual, (FSM) not the little booklet that gives you your tire pressure, we can help you with suggestions and pictures.

You'll never find a fat honest mechanic. The really honest ones struggle to get by. They are only too happy to take your money. In a lot of ways they are just like lawyers.

Yeah you need a Civic or Corolla

Geeez Daux, that's twice in 12 hours we agreed on something. I'm going to go get a lottery ticket.

• Like 1
9 hours ago, MikelB said:

Had the truck looked at cause I had an adjustment and new tires put on a month ago and it was still pulling. The gear box needs replaced, the ball joints needs replaced and the tire rod needs replaces. 

I bought the truck for $2000, iv'e put over $3500 into it (I have all the recites for the work) Im a college student and can't continue to pay this much for a truck so I'm currently posting it on craigslist. 

$100 parts and $3400 labor.