My Nissan 720

MikelB

I have an almost perfect Nissan 720 pickup with a z24 engine in it, 4x4 five speed. It only has 40,000 original miles on it and over all is in pretty good shape after sitting parked in a field for 20 plus years. 

The one problem I'm having is that it doesn't seem to have very much power or speed. I live in Montana where the speed limit is 80mph and i drive back in forth from here to Portland, Oregon a couple times a year and its frustrating when my top speed is 65mph. Im wondering if there is anything I can do to get more power and speed? 

Im very new to working on vehicles and so please be as descriptive as possible, Id appreciate it very much. 

I should also mention that I have a brand new weber carburetor in it along with a new radiator.   

• Like 2
  • Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It's suspicious that anyone would park a 40K truck in a field. There must be some reason? perhaps the lack of power?

Off the top of my head... check for spark on both the intake and the exhaust sides. Not at the coil but on one of their plug wires. If one side is missing this will give poor performance and crappy mileage. You should get up into the 20s with a 4x4.

Just pull a plug wire off and stick an old plug (any plug even a lawnmower) in the end and lay on a grounded surface. Turn engine over with starter.

• Like 2

Electrical is pretty good but being over 40, previous owners tend to add things like CB, stereo, fog lights and take short cuts fixing things. Keep in mind that this is an older vehicle that wasn't that fast or powerful to begin with. What is your mileage? Good would be 22-24. Mixed is about 17 and under, again for a 4x4.