New member, and new owner of a 521 Project

boushkaa

Hey everyone, glad to have found the forum and have found lots of useful information so far.

Currently in the middle of an SR20 swap into my 521 that I picked up a few weeks ago. I did have a few questions regarding the frame as I want to modify part of it. I have found it to be a huge pain to deal with the frame crossmember that the trans mount bolts to. I know on other of my cars I am able to detach this crossmember making it much easier to pull the transmission. Has anyone modified their crossmember to make it removable? My initial plan was to measure and make brackets that I would weld onto the crossmember and have it bolt back to the frame using these brackets. Would this harm the cars handling or integrity? Seeing as I am swapping in the SR20 I think I need as much frame strength as I can get. I am new to the 521 platform so forgive me if any of my questions are stupid

Heres a quick pic from when I bought it for anyone interested

sexwBSN.jpg

• Like 3
  • Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Cool truck.same color as mine.

as for handling Its a king pin set up. I would just have left it along and drive it as a L motor as its A COOL TRUCK.

SRs in 510s is a better and EZer set upto do. as the 521 has what you mentioned x memeber  plus a Carrier bearingto deal with when installng a new 5 speed set up.

510 thereare already made X members ect....

I say just leave it.its a cool truck

• Like 1
1 hour ago, banzai510(hainz) said:

Cool truck.same color as mine.

as for handling Its a king pin set up. I would just have left it along and drive it as a L motor as its A COOL TRUCK.

SRs in 510s is a better and EZer set upto do. as the 521 has what you mentioned x memeber  plus a Carrier bearingto deal with when installng a new 5 speed set up.

510 thereare already made X members ect....

I say just leave it.its a cool truck